3.14159…Mm, Pie.

Happy National Pie Day! Or, *ahem*, PI Day. You know, the magical number that measures circumferences and goes on forever… 3.141592653589….etc.

So, in celebration of that number, I made an edible pie with which its crust circumference can be measured with pi and it was delicious.

FullSizeRender_1

Isn’t that just divine???

AND (of course!) it’s gluten free!

Jabuticaba Blackberry Pie

So let’s backtrack a little bit:

A few months ago, I signed up for one of those monthly boxes you get in the mail….Try the World to be exact. Well, after realizing:

  • a) yes, their snacks and ingredients and food tidbits ARE yummy and unique,
  • b) it was a fun idea and helped me be creative in the kitchen,

I also realized:

  • c) it was incredibly expensive and added up fast.

So, I stopped subscribing to that (among many other things), but I still have a lot of weird, totally not your normal American weekday food items left. And, I put off using them because, well, I don’t exactly eat jam with tea cakes all the time, or know what to do with incredibly spicy paste.

BUT TODAY I made a delicious and happy discovery:

I had jabuticaba jelly in my box, and it blended really well with the berries in my fridge, and so….

Jabuticaba Blackberry Pie was born.

NOW (after my rant) you may have the recipe. Go enjoy with some vanilla ice cream if you have it (I unfortunately did not).

JABUTICABA BLACKBERRY PIE:

IMG_0324

 

  • Crust:

I used MoonRabbit Food’s bag of Pie Crust Mix, found here.

1 cup crust mix

4oz butter, cold, cut in pieces

4 Tbsp cold water

  • Filling:

1  4.9oz jar jabuticaba jam (I used my Terra Moria brand jar from Try the World’s Brazil box)

1 cup of fresh blackberries

1 cup fresh blueberries

splash of heavy cream

slivered almonds (optional)

butter to glaze (optional)

  • Directions:

Make crust according to MoonRabbit mix recipe; line small 6″ pie pan with bottom crust.

Mix jam, berries, and cream together; fill pie pan.

Roll remaining dough flat and cut into strips for lattice, weaving carefully as dough is crumbly.

Bake in 375* oven for 35-40 mins; remove to glaze, sprinkle with almonds, and return to over for 5-8 more minutes.

Enjoy! Makes one 6″ pie that serves two, or one incredibly gorgeous and pie-deserving individual.

FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender_3

Bon appetit! ~* 

Leave a Reply

